Executive Director, Logan Johnson, welcomes attendees to Maine TREE’s inaugural Forest Awards Night.

Maine TREE Foundation hosted its first annual Forest Awards Night on Thursday, October 19, at the Morgan Hill Event Center in Hermon, ME. The evening was an opportunity for the many communities touched by Maine TREE’s efforts to connect, share a meal, and celebrate outstanding leaders. This year’s award winners included a logger, a land trust, a forester, and two forestry education programs at the high school and collegiate levels. Awards were presented by colleagues, friends, and family of the awardees. Presentation speeches were rich in stories and reflected heartfelt appreciation for the leadership, dedication, and integrity of the award winners. Awards and 2023 recipients are detailed below. 

Certificate of Appreciation

Awarded to: Mark Savage & Brewer School Department
Brewer School Department’s Forestry Immersion Program students and instructors with their cirtificate.

In the summer of 2023, Mark Savage and the Brewer School Department partnered with Maine TREE to create a 6-week Forestry Immersion Program for high school students. The program was made possible by a grant awarded by the Maine Department of Education’s Outdoor Leadership Initiative Summer Forestry program. Nine students participated in the program, which equipped them with the knowledge, skills, and resources necessary to pursue a successful forest-based career in Maine. During the program, the students camped near Katahdin Ironworks for six weeks, spending four nights each week. They operated logging equipment, including a forwarder and processor, hiked Katahdin, and learned about local history, ecology, and many life skills.

2022 Conventional Certified Logging Professional of the Year

Awarded to: Bud Philbrook
Bud Philbrook receives his award from his son, Joel Philbrook of Huber Resources Corperation.

Joel Philbrook, of Huber Resources, presented Bud Philbrook with the 2022 Conventional Certified Logging Professional of the Year Award. From Broken Arrow Logging in Island Falls, Bud Philbrook became a Certified Logging Professional in 2015.  He is known for his professionalism, safety practices, and meticulous maintenance of his equipment. He follows the book in all situations and is conscientious of state and local laws. He plans his skid trails by flagging them, felling trees using wedges where appropriate, and keeps a neat and tidy yard at the landing. He is active in his community, serving on the planning board, church activities, and Southern Aroostook SWCD.

2023 Outstanding Tree Farmer of the Year

Awarded to: Great Pond Mountain Conservation Trust
Landon Fake and Roger Greene of Great Pond Mountain Conservation Trust accept their award from Kevin Allcroft, Hancock County Tree Farm Committee Chair.

Hancock County Maine Tree Farm Committee Chair, Kevin Allcroft, presented Landon Fake and Roger Greene with the 2023 Outstanding Tree Farmer Award in recognition of Great Pond Mountain Conservation Trust. Founded in 1993 to conserve land, water, and wildlife habitat for the communities of northwestern Hancock County, Great Pond Mountain Conservation Trust strives to protect wildlife habitat and biodiversity, rural character and scenic beauty, working forests and farms, and outdoor recreation and education opportunities. The founders envisioned conserving the large, undeveloped area on and around Orland’s Great Pond Mountain, called the Wildlands. After an initial acquisition of 4200+ acres in 2005, the Wildlands has grown to over 5000 acres. The original 4,200 acres is a textbook example of restoration forestry.

Sherry Huber Forest Champion Award

Awarded to: Sarah Medina
Sarah Medina receives the inaugural Sherry Huber Forest Champion Award.

As Maine TREE’s first Executive Director, Sherry Huber was instrumental in the growth and development of the organization. Maine TREE’s Board of Directors established an award in honor of Sherry to recognize those who have advanced forest-based education in Maine.

Barry Burgason, retired Wildlife Biologist for Huber Resources, presented the inaugural Sherry Huber Forest Champion Award to Sarah Medina for her impressive record as a Champion of Maine’s Forests.  Sarah’s dedication and commitment to advancing forestry initiatives is evident through her previous roles as a Maine TREE Board member, Project Learning Tree Steering Committee member, and affiliation with countless committees and organizations throughout her career. Sarah has paved the way for a future generation as Maine’s first female field forester and the University of Maine’s School of Forest Resources’ first female graduate. She was inducted into the Maine Forestry Museum Hall of Fame with three other women in 2021, the first to receive the honor.

2023 Austin H. Wilkins Forest Stewardship Award

Awarded to: University of Maine School of Forest Resources
Patty Cormier, Director of Maine Forest Service, presents the Austin H. Wilkins Stewardship Award to representatives from UMaine School of Forest Resources.

The Austin Wilkins Award recognizes individuals, organizations, and landowners who have demonstrated and contributed to outstanding sustainable forest management in Maine. The award is presented in partnership with the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry.

Maine Forest Service Director, Patty Cormier presented the University of Maine School of Forest Resources with the 2023 Austin H. Wilkins Forest Stewardship Award for its service to Maine’s forests. The School of Forest Resources has prepared foresters for over 120 years and contributed significantly to the forest products industry and the State of Maine. The program has informed land management practices through research and graduated over 5,000 students and countless leaders in forestry, including Austin H. Wilkins.

Many thanks to all who made this event such a success! We hope you’ll join us in 2024. 

Program Sponsors
Supporters and Silent Auction Contributors

Brian Souers

Barry Burgason

CJ Herlihy

Ed Meadows

M & H Logging and Construction

Maine Natural Areas Program

Maine Tree Farm Committee

Northeast Logging Association


Similar Posts