2023 Winner:
University of Maine School of Forest Resources

The 2023 Austin H. Wilkins Forest Stewardship Award was presented to the University of Maine School of Forest Resources on Wednesday, November 15, 2023, at the Blaine House by Governor Janet Mills, along with Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry Commissioner Amanda Beal, Maine Forest Service Director Patty Cormier, and Maine TREE Executive Director Logan Johnson. Governor Mills presented the award to University of Maine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy and School of Forest Resources Director Bill Livingston.

The Austin Wilkins Forest Stewardship award is the foremost recognition for landowners and individuals who are outstanding examples of managing Maine’s working forest in an exemplary and sustainable way.

YearAward Recipients
2004Austin Wilkins
2005Seven Islands Land Co & Pingree Heirs
2007Sherry Huber & John Hagen
2008Baskahegan Timberlands
2009Baxter FMA & Jensen Bissell
2010Prentiss & Carlisle
2011Robbins Lumber Company
2012Robert Linkletter & Linkletter Family
2013Maine Tree Farm Committee
2014Robert Chadbourne & Chadbourne Family
2015Irving Woodlands, LLC
2016Max McCormack
2017Maine Woodland Owners
2019Maine Association of Conservation Districts
2021Ken Laustsen
2023University of Maine School of Forest Resources
Austin Wilkins (left) receiving the first Forest Stewardship Award named in his honor

Awards from Maine’s Forest Community

2023 Year in Review
At Maine TREE Foundation, forest-based education and workforce development were key themes in 2023. With …
2024 Maine Outstanding Tree Farmers of the Year Announced
Larry and Barbara Beauregard – 2024 Maine Outstanding Tree Farmers of the Year Award Recipients …
33rd Annual CLP Banquet
"The program was inspiring," said an attendee as they departed the Annual Certified Logging Professional …
Jeff Jandreau Named Safe Trucker of the Year by North Maine Woods Inc.
North Maine Woods Inc. Industrial Road Safety Committee Chair Randy Lagasse presenting the 2023 Safe …