CLP Advisory Committee Chair Bill Taylor provides a welcome address and program update

The CLP program held its 32nd annual banquet on December 2, 2022. Over 85 guests attended the event at Jeff’s Catering in Brewer to recognize the logging professionals who joined the CLP program in 2022 and celebrate the three loggers of the year award winners.

(Left) 2022 Loggers of the Year (left to right) Bud Philbrook, Jeremy Desjardins, and Robbert Berry III. (Right) CLPs who joined the program from 2020 – 2022 attended the banquet.

The 2022 Loggers of the Year are Mechanical logger Robert Berry III from Norridgewock, Conventional logger Bud Philbrook from Island Falls, and Contractor/Supervisor Jeremy Desjardins of Desjardins Logging from Soldier Pond. Each of these individuals has demonstrated exemplary safety and the highest level of professionalism throughout their career. In recognition of their success, the Loggers of the Year received a plaque, a CLP jacket, and $1,000. Joel Philbrook of Huber Resources was on hand to present the awards sponsored by Huber Resources and Conservation Forestry Partners.

Jason Brochu of Pleasant River Lumber and A&A Brochu Logging was the guest speaker. He shared his perspective on the future of logging in Maine and how changes may impact the industry. Throughout the evening, Mike St. Peter, with the help of young audience members, gave out many door prizes to attendees. The evening concluded with the raffle of two major prizes. The first was the chainsaw-carved bear donated by Mike Thurlow, in which proceeds benefit the Make-A-Wish Foundation. And as always, everyone eagerly awaited to hear which CLP would win the chainsaw before concluding the evening. 

(Left) Joel Philbrook of Huber Resource awarded his father, Bud Philbrook the Conventional Logger of the Year Award. (Right

) Mike St. Peter presents guest speaker Jason Brochu a CLP t-shirt.

Thank you, CLP Banquet Sponsors and Volunteers, for making this evening possible!

Huber Resources Corp. Conservation Forestry Partners
Seven Islands Land CompanyWhited Peterbilt of Maine
Stratton Lumber, Inc.,
Timber Resource Group, Inc.
& Fontaine, Inc.
Pleasant River Lumber Company
ED Bessey and SonT. R. Dillon Logging
GCA Logging, Inc.Pepin Lumber, Inc.
Acadia InsuranceAnderson Equipment
Cross Insurance AgencyHardwood Products Company LLC
Key Bank, NALumbra Hardwoods, Inc.
Randall Madden TruckingA.W. Madden, Inc.
S.F. Madden, Inc.MEMIC
Milton CatUnited Construction & Forestry
United Insurance Hayden/Perry AgencyVarney Agency
M.B. Eastman Logging & ChippingE. J. Carrier Inc.
Chopper One, Inc.Robbins Lumber East Baldwin LLC
Elliott Jordan & Son, Inc.Madden Timberlands, Inc.
Bangor Tire CompanyFamily Forestry
M & H ConstructionMadden Sustainable Forestry
Syl-Ver Logging, Inc.TreeLine, Inc.
Trees, LTD.Western Maine Timberlands, Inc.
Affordable Well DrillingAroostook Lumber,Inc.
M.H. Humphrey & Sons, Inc.TNT Road Company, Inc.
Raffle winner Paul Cyr of Fort Kent stands with the chainsaw-carved bear donated by Mike Thurlow to benefit the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

Similar Posts