AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

About Maine PLT

Maine Project Learning Tree, a program of the Sustainable Forestry Initiative, and housed within Maine TREE, is an award-winning environmental education program and curriculum designed for teachers, informal educators, parents, and community leaders.

We offer in-person, custom, and standards-based workshops which include:

On-line offerings are also available:

Maine PLT Steering Committee

AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

Anita Smith, Chair
China Schools Forest Educator,
Master Naturalist
tasmith@fairpoint.net
Rob Taylor
Spruce Mountain Middle School,
Science Teacher & Envirothon Coach 
RTaylor@rsu73.com
Barry Burgason
Certified Wildlife Biologist (retired)
b.burgason@myfairpoint.net
Shari Templeton
Maine Department of Education
Science & Technology Specialist
shari.templeton@maine.gov
Kenny Fergusson
Huber Resources, Forester
k.fergusson@huber.com
Genevieve Trafelet
AMC Education & Program Manager
g.trafelet@outdoors.org
Kayla N. Higgins, PhD
Unity College,
Experiential Education
k.higgins@unity.edu
Warren Whitney
Maine Coast Heritage Trust,
Program  Director
wwhitney@mcht.org
Sarah Medina
Forester (retired)
smedina@sevenislands.com
Linda Woodard
Maine Audubon,
Scarborough Marsh Director
lwoodlard@maineaudubon.org
Tom Mullin
Unity College,
Parks & Forest Interpretation
t.mullin@unity.edu
Timothy Surrette, M.Ed.
University of Maine, Augusta,
Science Education
timothy.surrette@maine.edu
Jonathan LaBonte
Maine TREE,
Executive Director
jonathan@mainetree.org

PLT NEWS

AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

Sanford Pleasant River Mill Tour – Maine TREE and Sanford High School JMG
SANFORD – This past month, Maine TREE partnered with Sanford High School …
University of Maine Students Participate in PLT Workshop
OLD TOWN, Maine – Maine TREE is always eager to support and …
Kennebec Estuary Land Trust Holds Summer Day Camp at Holt Research Forest
During the winter of 2020 – 2021, Maine TREE completed a timber …
Celebrating the 2021 Forests of Maine Teachers’ Tour
This July, we brought over 40 teachers from around Maine into the …
Join the team at Maine TREE!
We are seeking someone excited about nature-based education with a focus on …
2021 Forests of Maine Teachers’ Tour Underwriters Announced
Robbins Lumber and Pleasant River Lumber Headline Growing List of Supporters Maine …