AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

About Maine PLT

Maine Project Learning Tree, a program of the Sustainable Forestry Initiative, and housed within Maine TREE, is an award-winning environmental education program and curriculum designed for teachers, informal educators, parents, and community leaders.

We offer in-person, custom, and standards-based workshops which include:

On-line offerings are also available:

Maine PLT Steering Committee

AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

Anita Smith, Chair
China Schools Forest Educator,
Master Naturalist
tasmith@fairpoint.net
Rob Taylor
Spruce Mountain Middle School,
Science Teacher & Envirothon Coach 
RTaylor@rsu73.com
Barry Burgason
Certified Wildlife Biologist (retired)
b.burgason@myfairpoint.net
Shari Templeton
Maine Department of Education
Science & Technology Specialist
shari.templeton@maine.gov
Kenny Fergusson
Huber Resources, Forester
k.fergusson@huber.com
Genevieve Trafelet
AMC Education & Program Manager
g.trafelet@outdoors.org
Kayla N. Higgins, PhD
Unity College,
Experiential Education
k.higgins@unity.edu
Warren Whitney
Maine Coast Heritage Trust,
Program  Director
wwhitney@mcht.org
Sarah Medina
Forester (retired)
smedina@sevenislands.com
Linda Woodard
Maine Audubon,
Scarborough Marsh Director
lwoodlard@maineaudubon.org
Tom Mullin
Unity College,
Parks & Forest Interpretation
t.mullin@unity.edu
Timothy Surrette, M.Ed.
University of Maine, Augusta,
Science Education
timothy.surrette@maine.edu
Jonathan LaBonte
Maine TREE,
Executive Director
jonathan@mainetree.org

PLT NEWS

AboutSteering CommitteeProgram News

Sanford High School Wildlife Biology Class Visits Maine Wildlife Park
by Lindsay Strout – Wildlife Biology Teacher, Sanford High School I want …
LD 1902: A Resolve To Establish a Pilot Program To Encourage Climate Education in Maine Public Schools
Since 2020, the Nature Based Education Consortium’s (NBEC) Climate Education (Advocacy Working …
Trees & Me: Activities for Exploring Nature with Young Children
With the continuous evolution of education pedagogy, Project Learning Tree (PLT) is …
Connecting Students & Teachers to Maine’s Forests
The past three school years have had an upending impact on students, …
Edna Drinkwater School Students Research Climate Change Effects on Local Tree Species
This winter, a 6th-grade science class at Edna Drinkwater School (EDS) in …
Maine TREE welcomes Lena Ives as Director of Education
Maine TREE is excited to welcome Lena Ives as its new director …